Cinematography

Cinematography

I’m not really the one to talk about the cinematography of Dune, since I’m no film student, I’ll be honest, I’m in this for the animation course and not much else, but neither the less I’ll give it a try.

One of the things adding to the difficulty of writing about Dunes cinematography is the fact that information on the technical aspects of the film are extremely hard to come by, I’ve been looking for weeks now and I’ve turned up almost nothing. I would like to be able to tell you about the lenses used during filming or the effects implemented in post production, unfortunately, I can only tell you about the techniques that I can determine were used, purely because they are visible in the film itself.

As I believe I’ve mentioned before, Dune made extensive use of models. There are many scenes in which we see an enormous space ship, city or army from a distance and for the most part it works well, especially in conjuncture with the lighting, I’ts usually quite convincing. Aside from that there’s one other cinematographic aspect to talk about and that would be the use of blue screen which is important to mention since it was actually the largest blue screen ever made at the time, measuring 35 feat high and 108 feat wide, it was primarily used to enhance the sense of enormity in the desert scenes (they also haired several thousand workers to spend three months stripping the local landscape, in order to create a sense of desolation) those are the only unusual aspects of Dunes cinematography. There are of course all the usual, standard aspects of cinematography, the various types of shot and so on but unless you want me to sit here and list off each and every scene and what types of shot are used there, I think I’ll give it a miss.

dune-SHIP-modeldune_12

Leave a Reply

